Desicareer Logo

Cricket World Cup Winners List, Australia Wins World Cup 2023

As you know the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 is concluded on 19th November 2023 and Australia won the World Cup final. Here we present the list of Cricket World Cup winners for ODI and T20. The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup was contested for the first time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50.

ICC men’s ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 was started on 5th October 2023 and the final match was played on 19th November 2023 between India and Australia. So all cricket lovers want to know the all World Cup winners details from its inception to this year. So in the article, we have covered the All ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is the list of Men’s 50-over ODI Cricket World Cup winners from 1975 to 2023 with winners, runner-ups, host country, total scores, and final result for One Day International (ODI).

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The Match tied after regular play and super over and 
England won on a boundary count
2023IndiaAustralia241-4India240Australia won by 6 wickets

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Australia is the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup which has won the World Cup 6 times and finished as the runner-up 2 times. After Australia, India and West Indies won the World Cup title 2 times.  Here is the list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners country-wise.

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia7621987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 20231975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3221983, 20112003, 2023
New Zealand2022015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983

Cricket World Cup Winners List- FAQs

Ans. Till now, India won Cricket World Cup 2 times in 1983 and 2011.
Ans. 2007, the first t-20 world cup was won by India.
Ans. ICC Men's ODI World Cup 2023 was hosted by India from 5th October to 19th November 2023.
Join Desicareer Whatsapp