Desicareer Logo

States and Capitals of India, List of 28 States and 8 Union Territories pdf.

States and Capitals of India and The Diversity of India

India is the 7th biggest country and the 2nd most crowded. It’s a place full of different cultures and traditions. Located in southern Asia, India has many different landscapes. It has 28 states and 8 Union territories. Each state and territory has its own story, history, and place where the government works. This makes India very colorful and diverse.

India’s government works like a parliament. It’s democratic, meaning people have a say in how things are run. Since India is so big, it’s hard to manage everything from one place. That’s why the Indian Constitution lets the central government make new states if needed. This helps make sure everyone’s needs are taken care of, no matter where they live.

States and Capitals of India

India is a country full of different cultures, landscapes, and traditions. It’s like a big colorful quilt with many pieces. Inside India, there are 28 states and 8 special areas called Union territories. Each place has its special things that make it unique.

To really understand India, it’s important to know about its states and capitals. They’re like the heart and soul of the country, showing its history and diversity. From big cities like Mumbai to peaceful places like Shillong, each state and capital has its own story to tell.

In this journey, we’ll explore India’s states and capitals, discovering what makes each one special. Come along as we travel through this amazing country, finding hidden treasures and celebrating its many different parts. Welcome to India, where every state is a story and every capital is part of its amazing tale of many cultures coming together.

Indias States and Capitals List

India is made up of 28 states and 8 union territories. Each state brings its own unique culture, making India diverse and vibrant. Here is a list of the 28 states along with their capitals:

The India’s States and their Capitals
State NameCapital
Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Tamil NaduChennai
Uttar PradeshLucknow
UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
West BengalKolkata

Indian States with Their Specialities

Every Indian state has its own distinct historical and cultural heritage. We provide you in a table format below of every Indian State with their Specialities:

Indian StatesSpecialization
Andhra PradeshAndhra Pradesh is known for its spicy cuisine, historical sites like Charminar and Golconda Fort in Hyderabad, and rich culture in art, music, and dance.
Arunachal PradeshArunachal Pradesh is renowned for its breathtaking landscapes, diverse tribal cultures, and the Tawang Monastery, one of the largest monasteries in India.
AssamAssam is famous for its tea plantations, Kaziranga National Park (home to the one-horned rhinoceros), Bihu dance, and traditional silk weaving.
BiharBihar is known for its historical significance, including the ancient city of Patliputra, Buddhist pilgrimage sites like Bodh Gaya, and Madhubani art.
ChhattisgarhChhattisgarh is recognized for its tribal heritage, rich mineral resources, and the Chitrakote Waterfall, often called the “Niagara of India.”
DelhiDelhi is famous for iconic landmarks such as India Gate and the Istana representing the country’s past difficulties as well as its future hopes.
GoaGoa is famous for its beautiful beaches, vibrant nightlife, unique blend of Indian and Portuguese cultures, and seafood cuisine.
GujaratGujarat is renowned for its industrial and business prowess, the Rann of Kutch desert, vibrant festivals like Navaratri and Diwali, and the Sabarmati Ashram associated with Mahatma Gandhi.
HaryanaHaryana is known for its agricultural productivity, and being a hub for industries, and Chandigarh is a well-planned city known for its architecture and urban design.
Himachal PradeshCelebrated for its picturesque hill stations, adventure tourism, serene landscapes, and the Dalai Lama’s residence in Dharamshala.
JharkhandJharkhand is rich in mineral resources, known for its tribal culture, and home to the Betla National Park.
KarnatakaKarnataka is distinguished as the “Silicon Valley of India,” known for its IT industry, historical sites like Hampi, and traditional dance forms like Bharatanatyam.
KeralaKerala is famous for its backwaters, Ayurveda practices, lush greenery, and the highest literacy rate in India.
MaharashtraMaharashtra is also known as a financial and entertainment capital, Bollywood film industry, historical landmarks like Gateway of India, and culinary delights like Vada Pav.
ManipurCelebrated for its traditional dance forms like Manipuri dance, Loktak Lake, and vibrant festivals.

States and Capitals of India Map

You can find the latest political map of India below, which provides the total number of states and union territories in India and their capitals at present.

States and Capitals of India Map
Image Source:

River Map Of India’s States and Capitals

The Indian River system is classified into – Himalayan Rivers and Peninsular Rivers. The Himalayan Rivers originate from the Himalayas and flow through the Northern Plains whereas Peninsular River System or Peninsular Drainage emerges mainly from the Western Ghats.

The major Himalayan River systems are The Indus River System, The Ganga River System, The Yamuna River System, and The Brahmaputra River System.

The major Peninsular River Systems are Mahanadi, Godavari, Krishna, and Cauvery.

River Map Of India's States and Capitals
Image Source:

List of Indian States & Union Territories with their capitals

Union TerritoriesCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman
Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi)New Delhi
  • The Union Territories of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli have merged into a single union territory.
  • Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories: Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

With these changes, India currently has 8 Union Territories.

FAQs for States and Capitals of India

Ans. India is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country.
Ans. There are 8 union territories in India at present.
Ans. Daman and Diu is merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli.
Ans. Jammu and Kashmir is bifurcated into Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.
Ans. New Delhi is the capital of India.
Ans. Lieutenant Governor is the head of the Union Territory.

Leave a comment

Join Desicareer Whatsapp